Spring in my Step

9 Mar

A week can change so much. While I don’t want to get ahead of myself, I’m decidedly chipper about the faint feeling of spring in the air.

Spring is without doubt my favourite season. The brighter mornings make it easier to get out of bed; you find yourself smiling for no apparent reason; and with each passing day you look a little less like the Michelin Man as another winter layer is shed. Everything’s better when the sun comes out. It’s the most dramatic transition; as if life turns from monochrome to technicolor. I’m getting a bit abstract here, but I’m coming to a point.

I’m about half way through my attempt to become ‘The Artist.’ After six weeks of drawing in grayscale, tonight I finally got the chance to experiment with colour – swapping pencil for paint. And as an apt ode to spring, our subject was the ultimate symbolic flora of the season – daffodils.

I haven’t painted in over 10 years, so my attempt is more than a little ropey but it was fun to experiment with a different medium. This was achieved with just three colours – black, white and yellow. It will be interesting to see how the results change as more colours are introduced and my technique [hopefully] improves.

I’m feeling a renewed enthusiasm for my 29 Lives challenge and this week have negotiated a number of new lives, which will keep me busy for the next month at least. More on those soon but one thing’s for sure; the winter hibernation is over.

20120309-000338.jpg

20120309-000352.jpg

20120309-000413.jpg

4 Responses to “Spring in my Step”

  1. timruane24 March 9, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    Wow nice.
    Van Gogh, too, painted flowers.

    • sineadd March 9, 2012 at 12:19 am #

      Aw, thank you Tim – this was a very quick attempt, done in about 1.5hours in class this evening. I definitely need to practice more – painting was never my strong point.

  2. John Hughes March 9, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    Nice work, now don’t get carried away with the Van Gogh thing and try to cut your ear off lol 🙂

    • sineadd March 9, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      No pain, no gain John. 😉

Leave a Reply

