The Art of Being Still

23 Feb

When was the last time you sat in complete silence and paid absolute attention to one thing? If you’re anything like me, you’ll have a few things on the go at any one time – responding to emails whilst on the phone; tweeting while you’re watching TV; texting when you’re crossing the road; blogging in bed. We never stop.

That’s why I am relishing this particular challenge – my life as an artist. For just over two hours every Thursday, I switch off and focus on one thing and one thing only. It’s an exercise in complete concentration and control, forcing you to focus your mind on the task in hand and forget the rest.

Tonight’s class started with two warm-up exercises to put us into a deep focused state and shut out the outside world. We were given two outline drawings to copy, only we had to draw them upside down. My first – the horse (below) turned out surprisingly well for a first go. My Picasso imitation however was a little off kilter – I started from the left and ran out of space when I got to the right hand side – a lesson in itself – sketch the full outline before you drill down into the detail.

Next up was a still life. A mismatched collection of flowers, soft toys and fruit, this was an opportunity to play about with texture. I’ve never been great at still life drawing but I’m pretty pleased with how this piece turned out, particularly considering I spent less than an hour on it.

I’m not good at still life in a literal sense. I’m better on the go; when I slow down, I invariably get sick. Saying that, after my two hour art class each week, I’m at my most relaxed. I’m learning more than just drawing skills with this challenge – it’s teaching me to take time out. And I think my drawing’s improving a little too. Happy Days.

20120223-234401.jpg

20120223-234414.jpg

20120223-234454.jpg

One Response to “The Art of Being Still”

  1. garry March 1, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    i don’t think i would last 5 seconds

Leave a Reply

