A Portrait of The Artist

19 Jan

I’ve always been a creative type. I’ve argued in the past that you’re either a logical, or artistic person. As I get older, I’m not so sure that’s the case – you can learn anything if you put your mind to it.

I loved art in school. I was actually quite good. I wasn’t a world-class talent but my week revolved around those art classes. When it came to crunch time however, like many, I decided, on advice from my teachers that an A Level in Art wasn’t going to help me greatly when it came to applying for university, so I gave it up.

I’ve always regretted not keeping it up, even as a hobby. So, when I was pondering how to pass these dark winter evenings, and what challenges I could set myself in the first part of the New Year, I decided to indulge an old passion and pick up my pencils/paints again for another stab at being ‘the artist.’

Some 13 years since I left my last art classroom, I had my first ‘drawing and painting’ class tonight at the Crescent Arts Centre in Belfast.

Working with charcoal, which was never my favourite medium was quite a challenge, and it turns out (as you’ll see from my pictures below) that I’m more than a bit rusty. It was interesting though to play with different techniques – drawing with your right hand, then your left (seriously tricky); using only your wrist, then your elbow, then shoulder to anchor your hand.

Funny too, given my recent return to Weight Watchers that my first subject matter was an apple. Apt for January, I guess. Though from some of the drawings, you probably wouldn’t know it was an apple, to be fair. Something kind of circular, perhaps.

Maybe I’ll get better. Maybe I won’t. But over the next 12 weeks and perhaps beyond that, I’m going to give it my best shot. At the end of the course, I’m going to attempt a self-portrait – after all, this blog is all about putting a mirror up to my life and challenging how I see myself. Arty, hey?

20120119-233928.jpg

20120119-233941.jpg

20120119-234039.jpg

20120119-234107.jpg

20120119-234125.jpg

2 Responses to “A Portrait of The Artist”

  1. skybluewithdaisies January 20, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    i love your apples. so glad you’ve picked it up again. i myself loved art since early childhood, and then by strong advice of guidance counselors, gave up on my dreams of art school. They didn’t even know if i sucked or not! Anyway 20ish years later i am back at it, i don’t really care if i suck, and teaching myself the best i can. it’s never too late to do what you love!!! all the best to you.

    • sineadd January 20, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      Aw, thank you, that’s so sweet! Glad to hear I’m not alone in trying to rekindle an old passion – it can be all too easy to let go of things you enjoy and make excuses about being too busy etc, but going to try to swap TV for something a little more creative. 🙂 Good luck to you too!

Leave a Reply

