Plotting My 29 Lives

7 Dec

It’s been a week since I’ve blogged and there’s a couple of reasons for that. Firstly, I took a few days off work to head home to Co. Clare to help my mum out with the family business (a rural shop, post office and bar), which kept me busy. And secondly, I’ve been busy plotting the next of my 29 Lives.

There’s nothing quite like driving almost 600 miles in a few days to clear your head, though, I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I find it hard to think much about anything other than driving whilst at the wheel.

I suppose I could have documented the weekend, when I was a shopkeeper-postmistress-barmaid as one of my 29 Lives but, while I don’t get home to lend a hand too often these days, it would be unfair to call it a new experience. It certainly does have its comedic moments though, like being asked by punters in the bar, ‘ What’s PR when it’s at home?’ ‘when are you giving us all a big day out?’; ‘You’re still single? You want to be careful you don’t get left on the shelf.’ Biting your tongue, nodding, smiling and repeating ‘the customer is always right’ over and over inside your head is the only option when STM (small town mentality) reigns and this is your bread and butter. It’s not for me, not long term anyway.

One thing the trip did reinforce was my reasoning behind starting this blog. I am single and nearly 30. Friends are getting married, having kids, buying houses etc – I’m happy for them but I’m also happy for myself. I’m loving life at the moment and am determined to continue to try new things, up the ante and live life to the full.

I’ve lots of ideas for new challenges now- some will take longer than others to set up and complete and December is a busy month with trips to Barcelona & London on the cards (if anyone can think of things I can do in either place, feel free to make a suggestion) but I hope to be back soon with more of my 29 Lives challenges.

For now, a few pictures of the metropolis that is Doyles in O’Callaghan’s Mills, Co. Clare.

20111207-002921.jpg

20111207-003011.jpg

20111207-003025.jpg

20111207-003043.jpg

20111207-003302.jpg

20111207-003325.jpg

4 Responses to “Plotting My 29 Lives”

  1. Peter McCay December 7, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Im so glad I found your blog. Hope the drive was OK without snow tires. Its a long long way from Claire to here 😀

    • sineadd December 7, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      Thanks Peter – glad you like it! It is indeed a long, long way from Clare to here – thankfully I’m flying home for Christmas, so don’t have to tackle that drive, or worry about snow tires anytime soon!

  2. melanie December 8, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    enj0yed that sinead,keep up the good work, mel

    • sineadd December 8, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      Aw, thanks Mel. Hope all is well in the land Down Under. Pity I’ve already been to Australia – I could have tried to get a trip over to see you as one of my 29 things. 😉

Leave a Reply

