New Kid on The [Butcher’s] Block

21 Nov

Once upon a time, I wanted to be a chef. It was a short-lived career. When I was in school, I worked part-time on a Southern Fried Chicken counter in a busy petrol station and to this day, when I think about it, all I can smell is the lingering scent of raw chicken flesh mixed with that unforgettable pungent peppery powdered batter mix.

Even though I’m a fairly hardened carnivore (bar one week, when aged about twelve, I decided I was going to be a vegetarian), I’m still a tad squeamish when it comes to handling raw meat.

So, it’s with some trepidation that I am getting set to embark on the second of my 29 Lives – as a butcher.

The fine folk over at Murphy’s Butchers on Belfast’s Lisburn Road have kindly offered to take me under their wings and, this Saturday, will attempt to share with me some of their expertise in the art of butchery.

Quite frankly, I couldn’t be in better hands. During his 30 year tenure on the Lisburn Road, legendary Belfast butcher Michael McCormick has established a loyal clientele, with Eamonn Holmes and several members of the Ulster Rugby team amongst Murphy’s Butcher’s devotees.

This week they’re flat out making stacks of homemade burgers, which will be devoured by punters at the Rocket and Relish stand at the Christmas Continental Markets at Belfast City Hall. So, hopefully I’ll be a help rather than a hindrance when I switch my dress and heels for a white coat and flats and try my hand at being a butcher.

I’m already impressed by Mr McCormick’s aptitude for twitter; in his sixties, he’s mastered more technology than many half his age. He also seems to be popular local blogging fodder having featured on Eamonn Mallie’s The Mallie Files and Food Belfast. So now it’s my turn.

You can follow Murphy’s Butchers on twitter – @Murphybutchers. Let’s hope their feed isn’t full of tweets about how useless I am come Saturday…

4 Responses to “New Kid on The [Butcher’s] Block”

  1. Patricia O'Callaghan (@ocallap) November 21, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

    The last place you want to be is under a butcher’s wing, Sineady… I hope they mind all of your fingers and toes. xx

    • sineadd November 21, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

      Haha, thanks Trish. In fairness, it would be worse for you, as a true vegetarian…

  2. Charlotte November 22, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Brilliant idea. I hope they allow you to have a go at making sausages, I always thought it looked like mega fun.

    Good luck and mind your fingers!

    C x

    • sineadd November 23, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks Charlotte! Apparently I’m on burger duty – I believe my efforts will be sold in the Continental Markets at City Hall… Here’s hoping I walk away with both fingers in tact. :/

Leave a Reply

