The Countdown to 30 is ON!

17 Nov

So, the day has  come. Today I turned 29. I have one year left of my twenties and I’ve decided I’m going to make it count.

Life is good. Very good in fact. If this last year is anything to go by, making big changes to your life (whilst admittedly scary), can make a big difference.  In April, after 1o months counting points, I successfully shed five stone and dropped four dress sizes. In July, after five and a half years working as a magazine editor in Belfast, I took the plunge and changed careers, moving into Public Relations. Whilst I don’t want to sound like a drama queen, both of these events have been life-changing.

It’s not that I was unhappy before – I loved my job, my family and friends but I had gotten stuck in a rut. I know I’m not alone.

A few weeks ago, Belfast became a hiving hotbed of activity with Belfast Music Week and the MTV EMAs propelling a positive image of Northern Ireland onto the world stage. That week I essentially took up residence in the Ulster Hall, and witnessed some of the best live music amongst some of the best company you could wish for. At the last minute on Sunday 6th November, I received an invitation to attend the MTV EMAs as a guest. I got the call about 40 minutes before the doors were closing. For a split second, I thought to myself  ‘there’s no way I can get ready and get there that quickly.’ But it was just a split second and after a mad dash,  much clothes-flinging about the house and slapping on make-up on the move, I made it. Needless to say it was a world-class event and a night I’ll never forget as long as I live. The events of that week got me thinking how easy it can be, after a long day in the office, to go home, sit in front of the TV and vegetate. It also made me think that there’s an alternative – to get out more, do more and live life to the full.

So, I’m setting myself a challenge. In the next 12 months, in the run-up to my 30th birthday, I am pledging that I will step outside of my comfort zone; try new things; adopt a can-do attitude, and, here’s the punchline – I will attempt to try 29 different lives.  I’m not talking trying new foods or bars here – I mean 29 significant things, activities, challenges that will require that I live life in someone else’s shoes; putting my fears, reservations and/or embarrassment to one side. On average, that’s around 2.4 sizeable challenges a month.

Number one is setting up this blog (something I’ve never done before) and committing to this very public challenge to have ‘29 Lives‘ in the next 12 months.

I’ve spoken to some friends and colleagues in advance of launching this blog and there have been a number of suggestions as to things I should do as part of my ‘Leap Year‘ challenge. I have a few in the pipeline already, which I will share with you in due course. But for now, I welcome you to give me your suggestions.

This is not a Danny Wallace-esque Yes Man challenge. I’m not saying I will do everything that’s thrown at me, but I’m most certainly up for a challenge.

We’re here for a good time, not a long time folks.

2 Responses to “The Countdown to 30 is ON!”

  1. Ann November 18, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Woooooooooo hooooo… well done…. great blog…
    How about a few chapters of that book, getting your own work published and a sky dive…..

    I dare you….

    Ann

    • sineadd November 18, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

      Thank you Ann! That might not be a bad idea… A wee creative writing course and a short story at the end of it, perhaps.

Leave a Reply

